2019 Cudlipp Lecture and Award



Editor of the London Evening Standard, George Osborne, will deliver the 2019 Hugh Cudlipp Lecture, now in its 20th year.

The Trustees of the Lecture invited the former Chancellor of the Exchequer as “it would be insightful and timely to hear from someone who had served at the highest level in government but had crossed the political divide into journalism and was now charged with holding power to account”.

The annual Cudlipp Lecture was created in 1999 in memory of the late Lord Cudlipp, the former editorial director of the Daily Mirror and one of the giants of 20th century popular tabloid journalism. The lecture was set up to give a platform for a high-profile media professional to address key developments and issues in contemporary journalism.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, the Cudlipp Lecture welcomes the continued partnership with the London Press Club, the lecture’s original hosts when it was set up by Hugh’s widow, the late Lady Jodi Cudlipp and former Mirror editorial executives, in 1999.

Lecturers have included:  James Harding, James Naughtie, Kevin Maguire, Emily Bell, David Walsh, Sir Harold Evans, Jon Snow, Lionel Barber, Alan Rusbridger, Rebekah Wade, Alastair Campbell, Paul Dacre, Andrew Marr, Lord Grade, Felicity Green, Piers Morgan, Geoffrey Goodman, Derek Jameson, Bob Edwards and Peter Carter Ruck.

The lecture will take place at Regent’s University, Inner Circle, Regent’s Park, London NW1 4NS on 7 March 2019 at 6.30 for 7pm. To register for this free event, click here.


At the lecture, the winner of the £1000 Hugh Cudlipp Award for Student Journalism will be announced. The prize is given to a student who has made an outstanding contribution to journalism for an article, or series of articles, or video*, exploring an issue of public interest or concern which, in the Cudlipp tradition, exemplifies lucid and graphic communication to a wide audience. For information on how to enter, click here